Lean Bulk: Amateur Hour

According to Dr. Anders Ericsson it takes 10,000 hours of deliberate practice to become an expert in any one activity. However, I would have to inquire about quality of practice factoring in. This is especially true in terms of personal fitness and bodybuilding. With a little over two years of weightlifting behind me I would say I’m just moving on from the rookie stages of progress now. Guess why-quality of training. For the first fifteen months my program centered around bench press and curls. Throw in a little shoulder press now and then and maybe legs twice a month and you’re golden right? This kind of bro training is an unfortunate misstep. Luckily I was able to recover from this epidemic with proper coaching and information along the way, unfortunately some never do. Since starting a proper routine I’ve gained thirty pounds and actually dropped five percent body fat while not paying any attention to macronutrient or caloric intake. This is the definition of rookie gains. However, my disregard for nutrition eventually caught up to me and brought me to an abrupt halt in progress.

Fast forward a few months and now I’m taking a much slower, calculated approach towards bulking. Not to mention healthier. I’m shooting for one pound in mass gain per month with minimal to no body fat gain. This translates to 3300-3500 calories per day with a split of 252 grams of protein, 419 carbohydrates and 74 fat. However, with my metabolism the way it is, I’d be fine with up to 4000 calories a day and accept that I will end up gaining a little more body fat in the process. I’m excited to see what I can do. I’ve trained with multiple friends in the past but I owe most of my progress in terms of mindset, willingness to learn, and knowledge to Gary who I currently lift with. Him, and Dom Mazzetti. To wrap this stat filled snore-fest up, my point is this. Always assume you know nothing. I’m not the first one to say it but it really is so important in fitness. If you have the humility to take constructive criticism, apply it, and use it to improve. While also intelligently identifying the bullshit advice and tactfully ignoring it, you’ll be head and shoulders above the rest.

Leave a Reply

